Barron’s goals seal victory for Boyne C.S

Boyne Community School: 4-9
Mercy Secondary School Kilbeggan: 3-7

The Junior Football North Leinster “C” competition was contested today by Boyne Community School of Trim against Mercy Secondary School Kilbeggan, Co Westmeath.

In a very tight and entertaining affair on the grounds of Kinnegad it was a tight and tense first half where both sides went blow for blow. Boyne’s Jesse O’Rourke, outstanding on the day, opened the scoring with two excellently taken points. Kilbeggan responded with a point of their own before the game’s first goal came in the 12 minute, where Robbie Johnston was on hand to finish the ball to the back of the Kilbeggan net. Kilbeggan showed remarkable resilience and responded with a goal and a point of their own to make it a level game. Both teams traded points from here until the end of the half to leave it 1-5 a piece at the break. Boyne’s scores came from Charlie O’Connor, Ciaran Sheridan, and their captain, Conal Diggins.

The first quarter of the second half was completely dominated by Boyne C.S. Points from O’Rourke and Sheridan and goals from Barron and Dunne helped Boyne to a 3-7 to 1-6 lead. Kilbeggan never went away and was stuck in the game for long periods, chipping away at the score. However, Kilbeggan’s faith was sealed when the industrious Cathal Barron rounded the game up with Boyne’s fourth goal and put the contest to bed. The final score was Boyne 4-9 and Kilbeggan 3-7.

The Boyne team displayed several outstanding displays, including Conal Diggins, Ciaran Sheridan, David Regan, and Jesse O’Rourke. Still, on the day, Cathal Barron was the difference between the two sides. His physical strength and ability to win the ball around the middle of the field were exceptional, and he guided Boyne Community School to victory. Boyne will March on to Leinster, where they await the winners of the South Leinster final.

Boyne Team: 1. Aron Malone 17. Daniel Quinn 3. Darragh Mcloughlin 4. Charlie O’Connor, 2. Lewis Ryan 6. David Regan 7. Luca Tahney 8. Conal Diggins 9. Leon Harris 5.Robbie Johnson 11. Cathal Barron 12. Edward Dunne 13. Ruairí McCaffrey 14. Ciaran Sheridan 15. Jesse O’Rourke

Subs: 10. Daniel Callaghan for 17. Daniel Quinn (HT), 26. Senan Loughrey for 13. Ruairí McCaffrey (45m), 18 Ben McQuid for 12 Edward Dunne (51m).
Kaden Lacey, James Murray, Darragh Purcell, Shane Jordan, Daniel McSherry, Evan Lawless, Joe Martin, Charlie Meehan, Jamie Hughes, Ronan Conroy, Adam Douglas, Finn Witchlow, Caoimhin Rua O’Neill, Conor Cummins, Aron Doherty, Evan Drum, Cormac Byrne.