North Leinster C Hurling Champions

Match report by Ms Phelan

Boyne Community School 9-16

Coláiste Naomh Cormac 0-4

Boyne Community School are Second Year North Leinster C Hurling Champions after a convincing victory over Kilcormac. 

Edenderry GAA ground set the scene for this North Leinster decider. Both teams came into the final undefeated, and despite Boyne having comprehensive victories in all their games to date, they knew this would be a challenge as Kilcormac is a well-known hurling club with many famous names coming through. 

Ben Healy opened the scoring with a fine point after a good ball in from Ronan Diggins. The first green flag of the day was raised minutes later through the skilful hands of John Killoran. Boyne went another three up, two off the stick of the ever-accurate Ben Healy and a 65′ from team captain Charlie Fagan. Kilcormac registered their first score after 12 minutes with a lovely point from young Screeney, but it wasn’t long before Boyne responded with a point from Dylan Kealy. 

Boyne continued to push forward with the wind on their back and registered another 2-4, Cathal Flynn accounting for a goal to get his name on the scoresheet before the halftime whistle. Kilcormac also got another two points to bring their halftime tally to 0-3.

The only thing against Boyne in the second half was the wind as they pushed on in their quest for glory. The first-half score came four minutes in, a free conversion by Ben Healy after John Killoran got brought down on a great run towards the goal. A minute later, Ben split the posts again after a fantastic turnover from Lee Kearney. The game’s fate was sealed as Boyne rattled the net three times in four minutes, courtesy of Dylan Kealy, Ben Healy and Liam Healy. Boyne showed no mercy and continued to push ahead in their purple patch, which showed no signs of concluding. Timon Dempsey and Cormac Walsh came off the bench to score 2-4, respectively. The flow of scores continued as Boyne showed this match the respect it deserved and played with intent right until the final whistle. 

Kilcormac only managed one point in the second half, which is a credit to our unbeatable defence and their intensity. On the few occasions where Kilcormac did break down this defence, John McMoreland was flawless between the posts and denied every effort. Fionn Ennis and Patrick Cleary were massive as full-backs, and Conor Heffernan played a pivotal role as centre-back, denying Kilcormac the opportunity to show off the excellent skill that got them to this stage in the competition. 

On a day when every player stood up to be counted, it would be impossible to single out any player’s performance. However, a special mention must be given to team captain Charlie Fagan, who executed fantastic skill on the pitch and was a great leader to the team today and throughout the season. Every panel member has contributed to this victory across the past few games, and it will be fascinating to see how this group develop further over the coming years. It is doubtful that this will be the last piece of silverware they will bring back to Boyne CS. 

Mr James and Ms Phelan manage the team.

Scores: Ben Healy 1-7, John Killoran, Timon Dempsey 2-0 each, Dylan Kealey 1-2, Cormac Walsh 0-4, Charlie Fagan 0-3, Cathal Flynn, Liam Healy 1-0 each 

Team: John McMoreland (Trim), Fionn Ennis (Trim), Patrick Cleary (Na Fianna), Enda Byrne (Boardsmill), Adam Genockey (Trim), Conor Heffernan (Trim), Michaeál Byrne (Kilmessan), Charlie Fagan (Dunderry), Ronan Diggins (Kildalkey), John Killoran (Na Fianna), Dylan Kealy (Kildalkey), Liam Healy (Rathmolyon), Ben Healy (Na Fianna), Lee Kearney (Trim), Cathal Flynn (Na Fianna)

Subs: Liam O’Donnell (Trim) for Byrne, Timon Dempsey (Rathmolyon) for Kearney, Cormac Walsh (Trim) for Flynn, Gareth Reilly (Trim) for Healy, Conor McNamara (Kiltale), Kian Donoghue (Trim), Evan Rattigan (Trim), Jackie McGuane (Rathmolyon), James Doyle (Rathmolyon), John McVann (Kiltale), Cian Buckley (Trim), Ryan McCarty (Kildalkey), Conor Hand (Kildalkey), Jack Drum (Rathmolyon) Daire Sheridan (Dunderry), David Bulloch (Kiltale), Caolan Comey (Kiltale)