Heartbreak in Penalty Shootout for Boyne Soccer Stars in DIFE Grounds, in northeast Leinster Final.

Full-time Scoreline (1-1)
Loss on Penalties after ET (5-4)

Today, on the grounds of DIFE in Drogheda, our 1st Year soccer stars faced a heart-wrenching defeat against De La Salle College, Dundalk. Despite a valiant effort, the boys fell short during a penalty shootout. (5-4).

Throughout the game, they poured their hearts and souls into each minute of normal time and the additional 20 minutes of extra time.

Boyne initially seized the lead in the second half, courtesy of a well-executed goal by centre-forward Ronan Murray after some neat play by Fionn Crotty and team captain Oran Connelly.

However, their opponents swiftly equalized within two minutes of the Boyne goal, with a remarkable thirty-yard strike, shifting the momentum. The match remained tightly contested, with Boyne creating promising opportunities that, on a different day, could have turned the tide in their favour.

Despite the disappointment, it’s essential to recognize the remarkable potential within our first-year soccer team and the outstanding soccer club within the school. These young players have immense talent, and we firmly believe they will have fantastic days awaiting them as they continue to represent and play top-graded soccer for the school in the years ahead. We wish them well as they regroup and return to their clubs for NECSL league action this weekend.

We are grateful to our dedicated teachers, coaches, supportive backroom staff, inspiring guest speakers, loyal supporters, and all soccer team members. They truly exemplify the values of their families, clubs, and the Boyne Community School.

Special commendation goes to our centre-back and Parkceltic Summerhill player Scott Williams, who was awarded the Player of the Match award. Scott’s stellar display epitomized excellence on the field. Pictured alongside FAI Official, Liam and his proud parents, Lisa and Ger, Scott’s achievement is a testament to his hard work, courage and dedication.

Team on the day

Shane Govern (Trim Celtic)
Ben O Donnell (Trim Celtic)
Finn Mccormack (Athboy Celtic)
Scott Williams (Parkceltic, Summerhill)
Conall O Reilly (Parkceltic, Summerhill)
George Golds (Trim Celtic)
Jamie McLoughlin (Trim Celtic)
Liam Fagan (Parkceltic, Summerhill)
Oran Connelly (Parkceltic, Summerhill & rotational Captain)
Fionn Crotty (Trim Celtic)
Ronan Murray (Trim Celtic)

Substitutes used on the day:
Seanie Henry (Trim Celtic)
Daira Peppard (Bohemians FC)