Boyne CS win 1

st year Leinster Championship – Match Report

Boyne CS 3-14
Wexford CBS 5-6
Boyne Community School claimed victory in this 1st year Leinster Final against a very strong Wexford CBS team. The game was played in Bray Emmett’s GAA grounds in sunny and dry conditions with a scenic back drop of the Wicklow mountains on display.
The match was played with great pace and intensity throughout as both teams traded scores. The Boyne lads went in at half time a point up on a score line of 2-5 to 2-4.
There was some heroic defending throughout the game from all the team but a special mention must go to Corey Corrigan and John Killoran who had mighty performances. Terrific point efforts from Ben Healy, Caolan Comey, Conor Hassett and Cormac Walsh pushed Boyne further ahead in the second half but it was Fionn Ennis who bagged the crucial goal to give his team mates some breathing space near the end.
Credit to Wexford CBS as they kept battling to the end and piled on the pressure with a couple of late goals.
After the game Joint Captains Caolan Comey and Conor Heffernan received the Trophy on behalf of the panel.
Scorers: Ben Healy 1-4, Caolan Comey 0-4 , Cathal Flynn 1-1, Cormac Walsh 0-3, Fionn Ennis 1-0,
Conor Hassett 0-2.
Team: 1. Conor Mc Namara (Summerhill) 2. Corey Corrigan (Ballivor) 3. Adam Genocky (Trim) 4. Tadgh Clavin (Trim) 5. Lee Kearney (Trim) 6. Conor Heffernan (Trim) 7. John Killoran (Na Fianna) 8. Conor Hassett (Ballivor) 9. Ronan Diggins (Ballivor) 10. Cian Buckley (TRIM) 11. Caolan Comey 12. Sam Corkery (Clann Na Gael) 13. Cormac Walsh (TRIM) 14. Ben Healy (Na Fianna) 15. Cathal Flynn (Na Fianna)
Subs : Fionn Ennis (TRIM) for Clavin, Ronan O Hara (TRIM) for Flynn, Conor Hand (Ballivor) for Corkery, Michael Byrne (Dunsany), Andrew Bulloch (Summerhill) David Bulloch (Summerhill) Padraic Boylan (Clann Na Gael) Daire Keatinge (Navan O Mahonys) Charlie Fagan (Dunderry) Timon Dempsey (TRIM) Evan Rattigan (TRIM) Enda Byrne (Boardsmill) Michael Kane (Moynalvey) Reece Beasley (Ballivor) Conor Rispin (Summerhill) Daire Mc Nally (Ballivor) Dean Heapes (Ballivor) Liam O Donnell (TRIM) Patrick Cleary (Na Fianna) Padraig Deegan (Moynalvey) Jamie Tomney (Trim) John Mc Vann (Summerhill)
Mentors: Mr Lynch and Mr Ryan